The Sweetwater Rotary Club was born on Saturday night, May 23, 1925 with a total of 25 members present. The club was admitted to Rotary International on June 2, 1925. The charter members and their classifications are listed as follows:
Charter Member   Classification
Joe Booth * Life Insurance Agent
Albert Brann, DDS   Dentist
Claude W. Bryant   Retail Lumber Company
D.A. Clark   Fire Insurance
W.R. Costehens   Retail Hardware Company
S.I. Edwards   Retail Grain Dealer
A.H. Fortner, MD   Physician and Surgeon
L.D. Galbraith   Cleaning and Press Shop
L.J. Geer   Texas Electric Service
L.T. Grabbe   United States Gypsum Company
John H. Hubbard   Men's Clothing Shop
Abe Levy   Retail Dry Goods
M.C. Manroe   Wholesale Gas and Oil
R.K. McAdams   First National Bank
John A. McCurdy   Sweetwater Building and Loan
Mose Newman   Rancher and Capitalist
C.C. Perkins   Lawyer
Jess Robertson   Restaurant
R.M. Simmons   Sweetwater Cotton Oil Company
C.R. Simmons   Sweetwater Laundry
Minor Shutt   Newspaper Editor
Roy W. Thompson   Real Estate and Insurance
W.E. Wade   Wholesale Meats
Rufus Wright   Wright Furniture
Earnest Wright   Wright Hotel
* First Club President
"I would thank you from the bottom of my heart, but for you my heart has no bottom."
Author Unknown
Special thanks to Rotarian and Past President Bill Clark for providing this information.